Skip to content

MLP Qualifying Income Regulations Are Finalized – Not Withdrawn by Trump Administration

MLP Qualifying Income Background Decorative Image

On January 24, 2017, in a surprise to many, the final 7704 regulations were published in the Federal Register. Previously, on January 20, 2017, President Donald J. Trump imposed a government-wide regulatory freeze in a White House memorandum issued by the President’s Chief of Staff. The memorandum included an instruction to the heads of executive departments and agencies to immediately withdraw regulations that have been sent to the Federal Register, but not yet published, until a department or agency head appointed or designated by the President reviews and approves the regulations. Although it appeared that the 7704 regulations released by Treasury and the IRS on January 19, 2017 were subject to these instructions to be withdrawn, because they were published in the Federal Register on January 24, 2017, these regulations are now final.

Our previous discussion of the substance of the final regulations can be found here. Join members of the V&E tax and corporate teams as they discuss the regulations tomorrow, Wednesday, January 25, 2017, by registering here.

Contact Info for MLP Team:

If you have questions or would like to discuss the final regulations, please contact a member of the V&E MLP team:

Tax Contacts:
John Lynch jlynch@velaw.com +1.713.758.1050
Gary Huffman ghuffman@velaw.com +1.202.639.6771
Ryan Carney rcarney@velaw.com +1.713.758.4720
Jim Meyer jmeyer@velaw.com +1.214.220.7721
Capital Markets Contacts:
David Oelman doelman@velaw.com +1.713.758.3708
Ramey Layne rlayne@velaw.com +1.713.758.4629

View prior MLP tax updates and all MLP Qualifying Income PLRs.

 

This information is provided by Vinson & Elkins LLP for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal advice.