Skip to content

IRS Issues Guidance on Elective Cash/Stock Dividends by REITs

AOL - REITS

A Revenue Procedure effective August 11, 2017 (Rev. Proc. 2017-45) establishes guidelines for a real estate investment trust (“REIT”) to issue elective cash/stock distributions as part of a dividend qualifying for the dividends paid deduction. The Revenue Procedure will allow REITs to conserve cash without enduring the time and expense associated with obtaining a private letter ruling from the Internal Revenue Service. To qualify for this treatment, the REIT must be “publicly offered” (i.e., a REIT that is required to file annual and periodic reports under the Exchange Act). The Revenue Procedure makes permanent financial crisis-era published guidance that had expired, but requires a greater cash percentage (i.e., at least 20 percent) than was required under the prior published guidance.

All REITs are required to distribute 90 percent of their “REIT taxable income” on an annual basis. Under the Revenue Procedure, if a REIT gives shareholders the option of receiving a distribution in either cash or stock and satisfies the requirements of the Revenue Procedure, the portion of the distribution that is a dividend under Code Section 301 will be (i) treated as a dividend for purposes of the dividends paid deduction applicable to REITs and (ii) included in the recipient’s gross income. The value of the stock distributed in lieu of cash will be treated as equal to the amount of cash for which the stock is substituted.

Scope of the Revenue Procedure

To fall within the new Revenue Procedure’s purview, a publicly offered REIT must declare a distribution, on or after August 11, 2017, with a cash-or-stock election attached to all or part of it and:

  • the declaration must entitle each shareholder to elect to receive part or all of its distribution in either cash or stock;
  • the cap on the cash amount of the declared distribution (the “Cash Limitation Amount,” and, expressed as a percentage of the declared distribution, the “Cash Limitation Percentage”) must be 20 percent or greater;
  • if the aggregate cash amount to be distributed is not limited by the Cash Limitation, then each shareholder must receive cash equal to the elected amount;
  • If the cash election is oversubscribed (i.e., the aggregate cash amount is limited by the Cash Limitation), then each shareholder electing to receive a percentage of cash over and above the Cash Limitation Percentage must instead receive an amount of cash which is as close in amount as practicable to the sum of:
    • the product of the Cash Limitation Percentage and the shareholder’s entire dividend entitlement (to the extent subject to a cash/stock election) under the declaration, and
    • the shareholder’s pro rata portion, based on its elected cash amount, of available cash above the Cash Limitation;
  • regardless of whether the cash election is oversubscribed, every shareholder electing to receive a percentage of cash less than or equal to the Cash Limitation Percentage must receive the elected amount of cash; and
  • the number of shares received by any shareholder receiving property must be determined by a formula which:
    • utilizes the market value of the shares,
    • is designed to link the value of the shares distributed as closely as practicable to the amount of cash otherwise paid, and
    • uses data from a period of more than two weeks, ending as close as practicable to the payment date.

The cash or stock election will not affect any portion of the declared dividend not subject to the election.

Lastly, for purposes of Rev. Proc. 2017-45, if a shareholder participates in a dividend reinvestment plan, stock received by that shareholder under such plan will be treated as received in exchange for cash received in the distribution.

Contact Information for the REIT Team

For more information about this topic, please contact a member of the V&E REIT team:

Tax Contacts:
Chris Mangin cmangin@velaw.com +1.804.327.6311
Jim Meyer jmeyer@velaw.com +1.214.220.7721
George Gerachis ggerachis@velaw.com +1.713.758.1056
David Peck dpeck@velaw.com +1.214.220.7937
REIT Contacts:
Greg Cope gcope@velaw.com +1.202.639.6526
Mark Early mearly@velaw.com +1.214.220.7895
David Freed dfreed@velaw.com +1.212.237.0196
Chris Green cgreen@velaw.com +1.202.639.6521
Daniel LeBey dlebey@velaw.com +1.804.327.6310

Visit our website to view prior REIT updates and learn more about V&E’s REIT practice.

 

This information is provided by Vinson & Elkins LLP for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal advice.