X

Reset Password

Username:

Change Password

Old Password:
New Password:
We have completed your request.

Hate Speech and Incitement - Fifty Years after Brandenburg v. Ohio

Monday, June 17, 2019 | 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. ET; lunch served at 11:30 a.m. CT, 12:30 p.m. ET | New York, NY

Broadcast via videoconference from our New York office to our offices in Austin, Dallas, Houston, London, Richmond, San Francisco, and Washington.


Fifty years ago, the Supreme Court reversed the criminal conviction of Ku Klux Klansman Clarence Brandenburg and struck down, on First Amendment grounds, the Ohio Criminal Syndicalism Statute that outlawed forms of advocacy and assembly. This program will explore the legacy of Brandenburg’s standard of “incitement to imminent lawless action,” the challenges that journalists face in covering controversial speakers and groups, the treatment of these speakers and groups by public institutions post-Charlottesville, and the heightened tensions between the right to speak and social media platforms’ right to censor, limit, or ban these speakers.

CLE pending

Venue

Vinson & Elkins LLP - New York Office
666 Fifth Avenue
26th Floor
New York, NY 10103-0040

T +1.212.237.0000


Connect with V&E

Stay informed by receiving our e-lerts. Select your preferred communications.

Related Practices